"It's not easy, but it's worth it"
Along with;
"This too shall pass"
My middle kiddo has used a bottle for a long time. He's almost 3.5 years old. I get it, it's a long time. But, it comforts him, and I'd hardly like someone to take away my comforts. I can't imagine what it would be like to have someone say "nope, not any more" to the things that calm me.
But, alas, I did it. Ack! It's been 6 days and I'm still battling the tantrums. Tonight he screamed for over an hour at bedtime because he could not have a bottle. This afternoon he had 4 meltdowns. I stood my ground.
I don't feel bad for him crying, I don't feel bad for standing my ground, so don't get my feelings in this one wrong. I simply feel bad for taking the thing that comforts him away from him. Cruel. That's how I feel it is. Not necessary; that's another thing I think it is.
I did it though, because society expects it of him, expects it of me. And if I refuse I am therefore labelled a bad mom by other moms. Who just don't understand the reason behind him having one.
It's true, he doesn't NEED a bottle. The truth is he WANTS a bottle, it makes him feel better and makes him feel safe. And I wish that was enough.
XX,
The Guilty Mom
No comments:
Post a Comment